Welcome to Denis Diderot School


Founded in 1962, the French School is one of the oldest and the most well-known international school in Kenya. Our ambition is 3-pronged:

  • Deliver quality education that is internationally recognized; ;

  • Pursue linguistic excellence both in French and English;

  • Raise civically-conscious citizens with an open mind in a changing world.

The school has continually grown in more than half a century of its existence. Today, it hosts close to 650 students between the ages of 3 and 18 years regardless of origin or religious persuasion. Our school fraternity of more 50 nationalities affords each and every student an opportunity to self-actualize depending on their personality, preferences and abilities. This diversity is a distinct asset that we strive to capitalize on through innovative instruction and personalized teaching to meet individual needs.

The French School is a member of AEFE (Agency for French Education Abroad), the largest network of schools with more than 495 schools in 137 countries. Through this association it enjoys technical and financial support from the French government thereby allowing it to charge affordable fees. The fact that it is run by the Parents' Association makes it a non-profit making venture whose sole raison d'être is provision of highest standards of service.

Choosing the French School is to equip a child with a recognized multi-lingual education that is centered on human values and one that is open to cultural differences. This will give your child the best chance to actualize in a world of opportunities.

Mr. Yvan SCHMITT, Principal

Bienvenue au Lycée Denis Diderot


Créé en 1962, le lycée français de Nairobi est l’une des plus anciennes écoles internationales du Kenya, et l’une des plus reconnues.
Notre ambition est triple :

  • Garantir la qualité d’un enseignement académique reconnu internationalement ;

  • Poursuivre une excellence linguistique, en français comme en anglais ;

  • Promouvoir des élèves citoyens, ouverts sur un monde en évolution.

En plus d’un demi-siècle, le lycée n’a cessé de se développer et accueille aujourd’hui près de 650 élèves, de 3 à 18 ans, sans distinction de sexe, de religion, ou d’origine. Nous formons une communauté réunissant plus de 50 nationalités différentes, où chaque élève trouve la possibilité de s’épanouir selon sa personnalité, ses goûts, ses aptitudes. Cette diversité est une richesse inestimable, et nous nous employons chaque jour à la faire fructifier, par l’innovation pédagogique, et par l’attention portée à chaque élève, en fonction de ses besoins.

Le Lycée est membre du réseau de l’Agence pour l’enseignement français à l’étranger (AEFE), 1er réseau scolaire mondial avec plus de 495 établissements répartis sur 137 pays. Il bénéficie ainsi d’un soutien technique et financier de l’Etat français, ce qui lui permet de proposer des tarifs attractifs. Géré par l’association des parents d’élèves, il n’a pas de vocation commerciale ou lucrative, et ne vise qu’à offrir aux familles la meilleure qualité de service.

Choisir le lycée français, c’est offrir à son enfant un enseignement académique reconnu, multilangue, et une éducation humaniste, ouverte aux différences culturelles. C’est lui offrir toutes les chances de trouver sa voie, dans un monde plein d’opportunités.

M. Yvan SCHMITT, Proviseur